Anglican Parish Of Glenelg Church Of ST Peter
The first Church of St Peter was built on Torrens Square in 1851. It was removed the following year because it was inadequate for the needs of an expanding community. The new church was consecrated in 1883. The architects were E.W. Wright and Reed. The chancel was extended in 1899, St Michael’s Chapel added in 1920 and the west porch added in 1924. The entire precinct is listed on the Register of State Heritage items and on the Register of the National Estate.
Adaptive reuse has been undertaken with chancel improvements in 2004 and the addition of architecturally innovative community facilities in 2011. Both of these projects were driven by the need to provide worship, community spaces, and administration and support facilities that welcome and engage in order to build a vibrant church community. This project received the Australian Civic Trust Colonel William Light Award for contribution to excellence in urban design in 2012.
This project was by Brown Falconer.